Skip to main content

{{ root_page.title }}

English National Concessionary Fares Scheme (ENCTS)

Concessionary Fares scheme is also known as the English National Concessionary Travel Scheme (ENCTS). The scheme provides free travel entitlement on public transport between 09:30 and 23:00. There is also a Local enhancement to allow travel at a subsidised fare before 09:30, currently set at 30 pence per journey in the Tees Valley. 

The Scheme is open to two broad categories of people eligible for a statutory concession: men and women who have attained the state pension age and eligible disabled people (where no age limits apply). Those applying on the grounds of disability must meet one of the categories detailed below: 

  1. Is blind or partially sighted 
  2. Is profoundly or severely deaf
  3. Is without speech 
  4. Has a disability, or has suffered an injury, which has a substantial and long term adverse effect on his or her ability to walk
  5. Does not have arms or has long-term loss of the use of both arms 
  6. Has a learning disability, that is, a state of arrested or incomplete development of mind which includes significant impairment of intelligence and social functioning 
  7. Would, if he or she applied for the grant of a licence to drive a motor vehicle under Part III of the Road Traffic Act 1988, have his/her application refused pursuant to section 92 of the Act (physical fitness) otherwise than on the ground of persistent misuse of drugs or alcohol. 

Applications for ENCTS travel passes must be made at the Civic Centre, Opening times: 

  • Monday to Thursday: 8:30am to 5:00pm 
  • Friday: 8:30am to 4:30pm 

Successful applicants will have a pass posted to their address within ten working days. For further information and application forms see the below links: 

Concessionary Fares

Concessionary Fares: Bus Pass