Skip to main content

{{ root_page.title }}


What are apprenticeships?

Apprenticeships are open to people aged 16 and over and combine real work experience and studying with the end goal of achieving a work-based qualification.  This can start at the equivalent of a GCSE, right the way up to degree level.

There are three types of apprenticeships - intermediate, advanced and higher.  The key differences are listed below:

Intermediate apprenticeship

  • Equivalent to five good GCSE passes (typically A-C would be referred to as 'good')
  • Apprentices work towards qualifications such as an NVQ Level 2, Key Skills and generally a BTEC
  • Once completed, the skills gained allow entry to an advance apprenticeship

Advanced apprenticeship

  • Equivalent of two A-level passes
  • Apprentices work towards qualifcations such as an NVQ Level 3, Key Skills and a BTEC
  • Generally applicants would already have five GCSEs (C or better) or have finished an intermediate apprenticeship

Higher apprenticeship

  • Apprentices work towards qualifications such as NVQ Level 4 and often Foundation degrees
  • Apprentices can also progress from a higher apprenticeship to higher education and university

You can search Apprenticeships on the government website here

Or find further details about Apprenticeships Pay and Conditions here